August 2, 2013

  • Pretty as a picture

    Click here to follow me on Twitter for more quotes

    Click here to follow me on Tumblr

    Someone will always be prettier. They will always be smarter. Their house will always be bigger. They will drive a better car. Their children will do better in school, and their husbands will fix more things about the house. So let it go, and love yourself and your circumstances. Think about it: the prettiest women in the world have turmoil in their house, and the highly favoured woman at your job may be unable to have children. And the richest woman you know, she’s got the car, the house, the clothes – might be lonely. And the world says “if I have no love, I am nothing.” So again, love who you are. Look in the mirror in the morning and smile and say “I am blessed to be stressed and too anointed to be disappointed. Winners make things happen; losers let things happen.

    There are some things that I’ll never understand. I’ll never understand the goosebumps I get when first stepping into hot water. I’ll never understand the dreams I have with strangers in them, people I’ve never met or seen. I’ll never understand how a person can keep going back to the ones who hurt them. But what I do understand is that once we do understand everything, the world loses its shine. Curiosity killed the cat, but the cat had nine lives.

    Find someone who will change your life, not just your relationship status.

    I think letting you go was the smartest decision I ever made. Even though I loved you so much, I just couldn’t deal with the pain. And the times we spent together, holding each other, were the best times of my life. But no matter how much I wanted to keep you in my arms, I couldn’t. I couldn’t hold onto you, knowing that all you were going to do was hurt me. But right now, even though I still love you, I don’t need you anymore. I don’t need you to complete me. I just need you to comfort me when I’m sad, support me, and listen to me when I talk. So I guess what I’m saying is, I’m glad we’re over. I’m glad I’ve let go.

    Maybe the truth is there’s a little bit of loser in all of us you know, being happy isn’t having everything in your life being perfect. Maybe it’s about stringing together all the little things. Making those count more then the bad stuff. Maybe we just get through it and that’s all we can ask for.

    I’m a lover and a fighter. I get angry easily but I’m working on it. I party, sleep, and think too much but I get my shit done. I have a weakness for sweet talkers but I’m learning and enforcing my boundaries. I don’t let many people in, but once they’re in, they’re there forever. I’m strong and independent. I’ve been broken but never shattered.

    Crazy around my friends. Classy around guys. A freak around my family, but at a complete loss for words around you.

    Here comes the sun again; that means another day without you, my friend. And it hurts me to look in the mirror at myself, and it hurts even more to have to be with somebody else. It’s so hard to do and so easy to say, but sometimes, sometimes, you just have to walk away.

    I have never been strong enough to stay. People say that walking away is the hardest thing to do, but it isn’t. staying, even when you know it will break your heart, is the hardest thing. Staying right where you are, waiting for your entire world to be ripped into pieces is much harder than walking away and starting a new one.

    So just live, have wonderful times and make mistakes but never second guess where you’ve been, where you are, and most of all where you’re going.

     

    Contrary to what the cynics say, distance is not for the fearful. It’s for the bold. It’s for those willing to spend a lot of time alone in exchange for a little time with the one they love. It’s for those knowing a good thing when they see it. Even if they don’t see it nearly enough.

    People don’t stay in your life forever. Maybe he came in, you loved him, you learned from him, and now there’s nothing more for him to teach you. Maybe your time with him is done. Maybe it’s really time to just let him go. If he has more to teach you, he’ll end up coming back. When you feel like talking to him, look up a new word that describes him in an asshole-ish manner. Keep a list.

    Girl, don’t you ever give up. I know your heart may be breaking, and I know you might feel like you can’t go on without him. Trust me, I know how it all feels. But do you think is heart is breaking over you? Do you think he’s wasting his days away, laying in bed thinking of the good ol’ times? No. He’s going to move on with his life. And guess what? You are too. You are going to super glue your heart right back together, and on with your life. With or without him. And someday, there will be a new guy. Maybe this guy will be the one, or maybe he will just be a temporary guy. But either way, you will move on to much better things. But, for now you need to get up and forget about the guy who forgot about you.

    Sometimes, we’re so focused on finding our happy ending, we don’t learn how to read the signs. How to tell the ones who want us and the ones who don’t, the ones who will stay and the ones who will leave. And maybe a happy ending doesn’t include a guy, maybe… it’s you, one you own, picking up the pieces and starting over, freeing yourself up for something better in the future. Maybe the happy ending is just moving on. Or maybe the happy ending is this, knowing that all the unreturned phone calls, broken hearts, through the blunders and misread signals, through all the pain & embarrassment… you never gave up hope.

    And something has to be right about us being together because if it wasn’t, I don’t think I would feel the way I do when you kiss me.

    Someone’s gotta tell that girl he’s unfaithful to her. He’s not in love with her, the lines he throws at her have already been said to a million other girls in a million other places. Every word you held close to your heart was a lie. Somebody’s gotta break her heart, somebody’s gotta kick his ass.

    Well, your eyes are puffy. Which, from experience, screams textbook crying eyes. You have your hair up, you’re probably not planning on impressing any boys today. I’d say you’re nursing a hell of a broken heart. And not the school girl crush kind. You’re dealing with the real thing.

     

Comments (4)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *