November 12, 2012

  • I remember it all too well

    My Twitter

    My Pinterest

    People like music, they love music. Music is loved because it has the ability to grab our emotions and our memories. It reminds us of what was, and what may no longer be.

    You know the beautiful thing about love? It’s so powerful. Nothing else can make people do the things that love can make them do. It’s the only emotion that can make people fight, give their all to something or someone. It’s the only thing that can make people hold on when they would have otherwise given up. Love is strong, it is powerful and it is rare. So when people find it, they marvel at the power of it. And they keep holding on, because it is the truest form of ecstacy. The world cannot survive without love. It’s the only thing that can get people to hold on anymore.

    Take the long drive home. It’s time to bid farewell to those you’ll leave behind. I know it’s hard, but you have got to do it. It’s time to go and make it on your own.

    I can’t just sit here and have coffee with you. I love you.  I know the other night didn’t mean for you what it did for me, but I haven’t stopped thinking about you since it happened, and not because it was great- which it was- but because it was right.  It was so right, and you might not see that right now, but I do, and if I have to wait until we’re both 80 years old for you to see it, then I’ll wait.  I’m not going anywhere. This is it for me. You’re it for me, and I can’t pretend to feel any less than I do, I just can’t.

    But maybe that’s what it all comes down to:  love, not as a surge of passion, but as a choice to commit to something, someone, no matter what obstacles or temptations stand in the way. And maybe making that choice again and again, day in and day out, year after year, says more about love than never having a choice to make at all.

    Life, if well lived, is long enough.

    Just to put your mind at ease, you don’t owe me anything. You paid me well in memories.

    It is my responsibility as your best friend to make sure you go do exciting things, even when you don’t want to. 

    We live the life of an unfinished novel, still waiting to be written. Depending on how long we live, the longer the chapters. Depending on how interesting we are, the more we appeal to others. We’re often judged by our covers. Sometimes, some people decide to just quit reading us. We’re just forgotten until someone finds us. Our characters can develop throughout the novel, but our chapters can never be edited.

    If you woke up breathing, congratulations! You have another chance.

    Somehow it was as if I was being told about something wonderful, something beautiful just waiting for me. All I had to do was wait long enough.

    We can never manage to live in our own time. We constantly live in the past or in the future. Never can I be happy simply just to be here now. No, I must spend my hours looking forward to tomorrow, looking forward to school, looking forward to the end of school. Or I am stuck in childhood, remembering and wistful. It is such a shame that we can never love this moment.

    You’re no Prince Charming, but you did rescue me.

    You can fake a smile for everyone else, but you’ll never hide the truth from yourself.

    I’ll be the first to tell you that I’ve got no clue what i want or what I’m searching for. I’ll just sit here and go along for the ride. And if I hurt in the process? In the end, it is what it is.

    The best moments in reading are when you come across something, a thought, a feeling, a way of looking at things that you’d thought special, particular to you. And here it is, set down by someone else, a person you’ve never met, maybe even someone long dead. And it’s as if a hand has come out and taken yours.

    So go ahead, fall down. The world looks different from the ground.

    Trust isn’t something that’s spoken and love’s never wrong when it’s real.

    Life can be wildly tragic at times, and I’ve had my share. But whatever happens to you, you still have to keep a slightly comic attitude. In the final analyses, you have got not to forget to laugh.

    Let people talk behind your back, it just reminds you you`re a step ahead.

    I hope that someday, somebody wants to hold you for twenty minutes straight, and that’s all they do. They don’t pull away. They don’t look at your face. They don’t try to kiss you. All they do is wrap you up in their arms, without an ounce of selfishness in it.

    I don’t know why we all hang onto something we know we’re better off letting go. It`s like we`re scared to lose what we don`t really even have. Some of us say we`d rather have that something than nothing, but the truth is, to have it halfway is about ten times harder than not having it at all.

    The best way to mend a broken heart is time and friends.

    No matter what, once in your life, someone will hurt you. That someone will take all that you are, and rip it into pieces and they won`t even watch where the pieces land. But through the breakdown, you`ll learn something about yourself. You`ll learn that you`re strong. And no matter how hard they destroy you, that you can conquer anyone.

    We don’t see things as they are, we see things as we are. For every person, love can be different and to another person your view of love can be seen as somewhat distorted or stupid, but does that mean that it isn’t real? However a loving heart is the beginning of all knowledge, so each individual must take the journey, to discover themselves, what love truly is. All I know is love is that thing that is missing in a lot of peoples life’s, that thing that makes them feel empty and apathetic, for life without love, is not life at all.

    I think you`re scared just like the rest of us. But I think you`re smart enough to see that one day when you look back from whatever big job or big house, or whatever it is that you got, that when you look back at this time, I dare you to beat it. I dare you. 

    God made the world round so we would never be able to see too far down the road.

    I still look at those pictures, I still remember you.

    Weight isn’t important the way the magazines make you think it is. I know a girl who just looks at her face in the medicine cabinet mirror and never looks below her shoulders, and she’s four or five hundred pounds but she doesn’t see all that, she just sees a beautiful face and therefore she thinks she’s a beauty. And therefore I think she’s a beauty, too, because I usually accept people on the basis of their self-images, because their self-images have more to do with the way they think than their objective-images do. Maybe she’s six hundred pounds, who knows. If she doesn’t care, I don’t.

    But regardless of what weapons they try to use to effect silence. Words will always retain their power. Words are the means to meaning, and for some, the annuciation of truth. And the truth is, there is something terribly wrong with this country. And where once you had freedom to object, to think and speak as you saw fit, you now have censors and systems of surveillance coercing your conformity and soliciting your submission. How did this happen? Who’s to blame? Well, certainly there are those more responsible than others and they will be held accountable. But again, truth be told, if you’re looking for the guilty, you need only look into a mirror.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *